New chief for NEP

The latest development in drafting the much-anticipated New Education Policy of India, which was last modified in 1992, has seen the appointment of a new nine-member panel under the Chairmanship of eminent space scientist Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan, who was the former head of ISRO.

The other members of the panel include Vasudha Kamat, KJ Alphonse, Manjul Bhargava, Ram Shankar Kureel, TV Kattimani, Krishna Mohan Tripathy, Mazhar Asif and MK Sridhar.

‘The Committee may co-opt members and hold further consultations with experts, if that is felt necessary by them,’ the HRD ministry said in a release. The Committee has been asked to submit its report by 31 December 2017.

The panel will also take inputs from the recommendations made by the TSR Subramanian committee.